This week I am joining in a group which is called, ‘Live like a Stoic’ week.

There is a website and blog you can find our more at. When I went to the conference at Exeter Uni about this in October I was asked if I would consider living like a Stoic for a week – I was horrified, I have enough stuff to be getting on with without making life even harder – and not drinking wine ?

I discovered all you have to do is think about life each day – it can be as simple as reflecting for 3 mins at the end of the day.

Yep, could manage that.

It has really taken off – the group got busy writing all sorts of Stoic – Fun- Educational stuff. They really are a bunch of fun philosophers.

So I have decided to ‘Diet like a Stoic’ – based on Musonius Rufus ( and a bit of Horace, who let his students have a glass of wine each day – good lad )

I weighed in on the Wii………… when I was 40 I was 9st 7lbs if I had only put on 3lbs a year since then I would be 3 stone heavier – which I’m not, I am 3st and 6lbs heavier – come on Gill try and lose weight

I started with a walk to the beach at 8.00 today – I will have yoghurt for breakfast and one meal a day between 3 – 7pm – oh yes, and a cappuccino mid morning .

Stoics are asked to live without lunch – and not make a fuss x

http://blogs.exeter.ac.uk/stoicismtoday/2012/11/26/day1stoicweek/

By gillgarratt

Leave a comment