Day 2 Stoic Week 2015 Tuesday

What is in our control

Early in the morning, when you are finding it hard to wake up, hold this thought in your mind: ‘I am getting up to do the work of a human being. Do I still resent it, if I am going out to do what I was born for and for which I was brought into the world? Or was I framed for this, to lie under the bedclothes and keep myself warm?’ ‘But this is more pleasant’. So were you born for pleasure: in general were you born for feeling or for affection? Don’t you see the plants, the little sparrows, the ants, the spiders, the bees doing their own work, and playing their part in making up an ordered world. And then are you unwilling to do the work of a human being? Won’t you run to do what is in line with your nature? — Marcus Aurelius, Meditations, 5.1

Morning meditation – watching the sun rise

Mindfulness – not resenting the thought of the manual labour needed today

Stoic mindfulness (Prosorche) Reminding myself it is not things or people that upset me but my judgements about those things and people. Sharing with a friend how allowing time to process information, allowing at least an hour to allow feelings to settle down, before deciding on any action to take.

‘ Not to  make a big decision when feeling emotionally charged’

There are things I cannot change, working towards accepting them will bring about a calmness

Evening reflections – work, friendship, adversities, acceptance, walking to the sea, the beauty of nature.

Saw this sign on way to work

Saw this sign on way to work

By gillgarratt

Leave a Reply

